Skip to content


Supportive Housing Services

Crisis Stabilization Unit

NWMHC’s Crisis Stabilization Unit (CSU) is a two-bed unit connected to the Northwestern Apartments and provides crisis stabilization services for adults who are experiencing a mental health crisis. This limited but intensive service is provided after a voluntary client is assessed by a trained mental health crisis responder and found appropriate for Crisis Stabilization Unit placement. Clients receive crisis stabilization and intervention services including coping skills education, brief counseling, supportive services, and links to community resources including case-management, psychotherapy, and psychiatry.

Northwestern Apartments

Northwestern Apartments (NWA) is a transitional housing support program. Staff is available 7 days a week to assist individuals who have mental health needs with learning needed skills so they can transition back into the community. Services include case management, supportive therapy, and skills building such as budgeting, coping skills, independent living skills, medication education, etc. NWA requires a Comprehensive Assessment completed within the last six months wherein the client is diagnosed with a serious and persistent mental illness. The client also requires a referral by a County Social Service Case Manager and a completed interview and admission process with Northwestern Apartments staff.

Adult Foster Care

NWMHC has a four-bed Licensed Adult Foster Care housed in the Northwestern Apartments. It is a transitional home providing quality supervised living for four people with 24-hour staff availability in a safe, healthy, and supportive apartment-style environment. With staff directly supervising residents in their living quarters, the Adult Foster Care Program is more intensive than the traditional Northwestern Apartments program. We serve all adult clients with a serious and persistent mental illness and a CADI waiver with a preference for those living in the eight northwest Minnesota counties of Polk, Red Lake, Norman, Kittson, Roseau, Pennington, Mahnomen, and Marshall.